Defending Assault Charges in Houston, TX

10 Jul 2023
Greco Neyland, PC

Throw a single punch, and you could change your life. Assault charges are nothing to play with. They can change the course of your entire life.

Even the least class C misdemeanor assault charge can lead to $500 fines and a criminal record. First-degree felony assault would mean up to 99 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines.

Fortunately, a skilled defense lawyer can help you defend these charges. Here’s what you need to know.

What is assault?

Under Texas law, assault occurs when:

  • A person intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly causes bodily injury to another, including the person’s spouse.
  • The person intentionally or knowingly threatens another with imminent bodily injury, including the person’s spouse.
  • Intentionally or knowingly causes physical contact with another when the person knows or should reasonably believe that the other will regard the contact as offensive or provocative.

There are several ways you can defend these charges.

One way is to show that you acted in your own defense and used reasonable force. In some cases, we can also use a defense that says you were defending against aggravated assault on your family member. Defense of property is also possible under Texas law, if you were defending your own property.

In some cases, you may be able to show that the victim consented to the assault in some way. For example, if you both agreed to go outside and have a fistfight, you might be able to offer a defense. This will not be possible if you used a weapon or beat the other person so severely that they were hospitalized. It would be possible if you got into a friendly wrestling match and both walked away with a few bruises or were two martial artists engaging in a spar, even if some injuries occurred.

In some cases, we may even convince the DA to drop or dismiss the charges or reduce them to a less serious charge. It all depends on the facts of your specific case.

Remember that the victim cannot legally drop an assault charge, especially in a domestic violence case. Once an arrest happens, a criminal defense lawyer is your only hope.

If you’re in trouble, don’t delay. Contact our team to schedule a case review today.

See also:

What is an Attempted Crime in Texas?

3 Reasons You Need a Private Criminal Lawyer for Your Houston, TX Case

Why Innocent Defendants Need Lawyers in Houston, TX

Recent Posts

Request Your Free Consultation

Fields Marked With An “*” Are Required

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

No Hidden Fees.
No Pressure.
Speak To a Defense

Call Us 713-972-1100


fill out our online form